Auckland University of Technology to host 2016 World Journalism Education Congress (July 14 – 16)

The fourth World Journalism Education Congress will be held July 2016 in Auckland, New Zealand. Auckland University of Technology (AUT) is hosting the Congress. The proposed theme of the congress is “Identity and Integrity of Journalism Education.”

Auckland Convention Bureau (ACB), part of Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development (ATEED) worked with AUT to secure the hosting rights, with support from Tourism New Zealand’s Conference Assistance Programme (CAP) bid fund. Associate Professor Verica Rupar, Curriculum Leader in Journalism at AUT School of Communication Studies, says AUT was selected because its bid clearly outlined what it saw as the key themes in journalism education today. “Journalism education worldwide is at a crossroads. Meeting those challenges and adapting the curriculum to enrich the wider university environment are critical,” says Dr. Rupar.

The World Journalism Education Council is an informal coalition representing 32 academic associations worldwide that are involved in journalism and mass communication at the university level. By bringing organizations from six continents together, the Council hopes to provide a common space for journalism educators from around the world and to focus on issues that are universal in the field.

World Journalism Education Council to convene in Montreal to select venue for 2016’s World Journalism Education Congress

Representatives to the World Journalism Education Council will meet August 5 in Montreal to select a venue for the 4th World Journalism Education Congress.

The congresses are held under the auspices of the World Journalism Education Council, which is an informal coalition of 32 academic organizations involved partly or wholly in journalism education that is dedicated to advancing the field by sponsoring congresses, conducting a global census and producing scholarship.

The fourth meeting of the congress in 2016 will follow highly successful congresses in Singapore (2007), Grahamstown, South Africa (2010) and Mechelen, Belgium (2013).